

JUNE 2022 VOL. 2, S. 2022



The University of Northern Philippines proudly waved the banner of Region I as the university notched fifth place in the 2022 CHED-Philippine Anti-Illegal Drug Strategy (PADS) Innovative Awards on 09 June 2022.

The awarding ceremony was conducted at SMX Convention Center, Lanang, Davao City.

The award was received by Dr. Erwin F. Cadorna, UNP President, Dr. Mariano F. Avila, Director for Students Affairs Services and Mr. Arnold Pio, Head of the Human Rights and Drug Education Services.

The top five national winners are the following: 1st — Ateneo de Davao University (Region XI); 2nd St. Mary's University
(Region II); 3rd — St. Joseph College (Region VIII);
4th — Pampanga State
Agricultural University
(Region III) and 5th — University of Northern Philippines (Region I).

The Commission on Higher Education (CHED) initiated the contest "2022 Philippine Anti-Illegal Drugs Strategy (PADS) Innovative Awards", which envisions to showcase the significant strategies, projects, and innovations being implemented by Higher Education Institutions (HEIs) in the country in compliance with Executive Order No. 66, s. 2018.

The contest also aimed to strengthen the antiillegal drugs program in academic institutions.



## EMO, in Cooperation with OP, SC and CAS Instigates Climate Change Congress



The Environmental Management Office. cooperation with the Office of the President, UNP Student Council, and the College of Arts and Sciences. instigated the Climate Change Congress on 03 June 2022 at the UNP Tadena Hall. The congress was also livestreamed via Zoom and Facebook live.

Congressman Jose C. Singson Jr., Deputy Minority Leader of the House of Representatives, served as the Guest Speaker.

Other speakers were Miss Alexis Pearl Concordia, a 3rd year BSN student, who discussed the topic, "Transformative Adaptation: Responsive UNPians in Action", together with Mr. Keith Sigfred B. Ancheta, MS Bio student, who covered the topic, "The UNP Way of Life: Setting Mindsets in Promoting Climate Justice".

EMO is headed by their director, Prof. Anna Liza V. Europa-Morales.

## UNP Holds Hybrid Synchronized SC, LC Elections

The University of Northern Philippines' Student Council elections commenced a historic proceeding of hybrid voting on 2-3 June 2022 where students cast their votes and elected a new slate of Student Council and Local Council officers for the School Year 2022-2023.

The election was conducted in a hybrid voting form which combined manual computerized voting, and online voting. Students scheduled for face-to-face classes during the election day cast their vote manually in the precincts, while those

who were scheduled for online classes cast their votes via online voting system.

Campaign was also conducted in a hybrid manner. Candidates posted their campaign materials through their social media pages, and also conducted room-to-room or within the university campaigning.

An open forum was also held on May 30 at the University Auditorium which served as a space for critical discussions.

**Virtudez, new SC Prexy.** After the two-day elections, Daryll Jeremy F. Virtudez (Dagyaw Party) emerged as the newly-elected Student Council President. Other officers include: Jerome U. Requilman, Vice President; Genesis R. Forneas, Secretary General; Shaina Dei B. Guzman, Secretary on Audit and; Kayla Ryssel T. Queddeng, Secretary on Communication.

The elected officers in the different local councils are as follows: College of Business Admin. & Accountancy—Aneli Denise B. Perlas (Senator), Heiyan Von P. Lappay (Governor), Mark Justin Molina (Vice Govenor), John Carlo L. Agbisit (Secretary),

Jasmine Kaye A. Quario (Treasurer), Mayzel G. Sarmiento (Internal Auditor), Ronald D. Reupta (Business Manager), Tito Simon Q. Quitevis Jr. (Press Relation Officer), Christopher James C. Alconcel (4th Yr. Representative), Veandrae Q. Quarte (3rd Yr. Representative) and Elmo Virgilio P. Cabarloc Jr. (2nd Yr. Representative); College of Teacher Educ.—Judel O. Cayabyab (Sen.), Geraldo V. Pajarillo Jr. (Gov.), Venelyn Keil A. Arruejo (Vice Gov.), Rizza Mae B. Casumpang

please turn to page 8