CLaw holds Pagpupugay, Pahimakas, at Bagong Yugto


The College of Law held its first-ever Recognition, Send-Off, and Alumni Night at the UNP-Tadena Hall on June 24, 2024, with the theme “Pagpupugay, Pahimakas, at Bagong Yugto: The 2024 College of Law Students and Alumni Night,” which honored the achievements of law students and distinguished alumni.

The night began with a tribute to the “Lucky 9,” the Graduating Class of 2024, which was a trip down memory lane of their law school journey, filled with memories and invaluable lessons that had brought them to the finish line.

Also, Juris Doctor students were recognized in various categories, namely: Leadership Award, Diligence in Studies Award, Bar Operations Volunteers, Balligi Notes Contributors, School Spirit Award for Leadership or Service to the Institution, College of Law Ambassador and Ambassadress, Environmental Summit Winners, National Debate Competition Delegates, Sports Achievement, Bayanihan/Community Engagement, and Student Philanthropist Award.

Meanwhile, alumni-lawyers were celebrated for their professional accomplishments and contributions to the community across various fields. The following awards were presented:

Excellence in Leadership Award for all Law Student Governors from 2014 to 2023, namely: Atty. Joanne Janice Quodala-Formoso (AY 2013-2014), Atty. Constancio Cariaga, Jr. (AY 2014-2015), Atty. Aimee Fortune Yadao (AY 2015-2016), Atty. Daryll Piedad (AY 2016-2017), Atty. Carl Vincent Quitoriano (AY 2017-2018), Atty. Lendl Don-don Plana (AY 2018-2019), Atty. Adrian Noel Plete (AY 2019-2020), Atty. Jessy Francis Cabanilla (AY 2020-2021), Atty. Ignatius Tablada (AY 2021-2022), and Mr. Reymart Regua (AY 2022-2023).

Also, recipients of the Maverick Awards were Atty. Chevette Macalma (Environmental Advocacy), Atty. Lex Vincent Dagdag (Private Practice), Atty. Kenneth Diaz (Service in the Government), Atty. Gerald Gallardo (Administrative Service), Atty. Derick Jackson Artates (Service to the Indigent through the Public Attorney’s Office), and Atty. Jay Princess Sacupaso (Service in Court).

Atty. Giovanni Gio Baquiran, Atty. Christian Philip Chan, and Atty. Kent Alvin Guzman were also given the Most Valuable Professor Award for Alumni-Lawyers. Meanwhile, recipients of the Most Valuable Professor Award for Non-Alumni Faculty Members were Judge Bonhoeffer Bernardez, Atty. Nina Luisa Lampa-Manalo, Atty. Mayvelyn Tajon-Feliciano, and Atty. Mhelygene Tesoro-Ramos.

Other awards conferred were Greatest of All Time Award for Atty. Leilani Vecina, Service to the Institution Award for Atty. Noel Pastor, Lifetime Achievement Award for Atty. Alfredo Benzon, and Pillar of the Community Award for pioneer alumni-lawyers, namely: Atty. Edwin Concepcion Jr., Atty. Jonathan Florentino, Atty. Gerwin Rabang, and Atty. Arlyne Rialubin.

Lastly, a Posthumous Award for Atty. Princess Caroline Nicole Ibarra was received by Atty. Lovely Anne Joy Lazo.

In her message, Atty. Yaye D. Lares, Dean of the College of Law, expressed her happiness that through this kind of event, the Ccollege’s virtues and its commitment to recognizing both student efforts and alumni successes is very vital in the realization of the goal to provide the best education for aspiring lawyers.

Pillar of the Community Awardees Atty. Edwin Concepcion Jr. and Atty. Jonathan Florentino also delivered their inspiring messages. Atty. Concepcion urged the graduates to move forward and move on despite failures and roadblocks encountered during the process and to always possess the virtue of humility in all their undertakings. Meanwhile, Atty. Florentino shared practical advice on conquering the Bar Exam with dedication and hardwork and aiming to pass it on the first try.

Finally, the Graduating Class of 2024 expressed their gratitude to the law school community for its support and guidance throughout their academic journey. The event concluded with a sense of accomplishment and anticipation for the future, as students and alumni celebrated their shared commitment to all the endeavors of the legal profession.

Article by Haysheryl Salamanca.


other news


Registrar's Office

Admission Services

Public Information Office

Guidance and Counseling Services

UNP Helpdesk

UNP Official SocMed