The University Research and Development Office (URDO), led by its Director, Dr. Edelyn A. Cadorna, organized this year’s UNP Student Research Congress with the theme: “Towards a Better Normal: Building Resiliency through Creative and Innovative R&D.” The Congress served as a forum for students to share the results of their study and hone their oratory skills in presenting.

On July 14, 2022, at the Tadena Hall, UNP Administration Building, the Congress featured thirty-eight (38) undergraduate student research presentations. Student researchers competed for the Best Student Research Award in five (5) categories; Culture and Environmental Planning; Political, Cognitive and Behavioral Sciences; Nutrition, Health, and Well-Being; Developmental Research for the Industry; and Theoretical and Experimental Studies. 

The University executive officials, headed by UNP President, Dr. Erwin F. Cadorna, together with Dr. Fatima F. Rocamora (Vice President for Research and Extension), Mr. Rino C. Reyes (University Accountant), and Mr. Anjo Christian Agdeppa (Student Council-Secretary for Finance) graced the opening program in the morning. Dr. Cadorna emphasized the value of research and its distribution to the intended beneficiaries in his Inspirational Message. He also emphasized his eagerness in learning new knowledge gathered from the student research projects.

Dr. Eric A. Galapon, a UNP alumnus who is currently a professor at the National Institute of Physics of the University of the Philippines, Diliman, graced the occasion as the Guest Speaker. In his talk, “Preparing for a Date with Serendipity,” he made the point that while the conditions for a discovery or innovation may arise accidentally, the discovery itself cannot. Dr. Galapon claims that readiness to view “strange” things is necessary for discovery.

During the opening program, Dr. Edelyn A. Cadorna, invited the participating student researchers to recite a Pledge of Dedication to signify their declaration of commitment in undertaking research.              

Student presentations were done through parallel sessions along the aforementioned five (5) categories in the afternoon. The Panel of Evaluators in each category was made up of three (3) academic members whose areas of expertise aligned to the field.

After the student presentations, the closing program immediately followed. Now energized student participants gave their impressions about the Congress. A presenter in the Nutrition, Health, and Well-Being category, Mr. Ell John Pula, thanked the audience and called attending the Research Congress a “great privilege and remarkable experience”. While Miss Katrina Jade Pajo, a BS Physics student described her participation as “a fun experience, one that everyone can all be proud of”.  She also stressed that in addition to discussing her study’s findings and enhancing her research capacity, she and her co-presenters learned from one another. She thanked URDO and prayed for future similar endeavors. Taking from Dr. Galapon’s talk, she concluded, “[The] discussion about serendipity struck a chord with me. I have my own interpretation of serendipity. It is a happy coincidence that we have convened here today. It was a great surprise to meet and get to know every one of you.

The program’s winner reveal was its most anticipated part. In each category, three winners—the “Best Student Research Award,” “1st Runner-up,” and “2nd Runner-up”—were chosen.

The 15 winning papers, who each received a monetary prize and a certificate, are as follows:


Best: Cristhoper L. Bustarde, Reymund B. Israel, Zoren T. Pagat and Maxie C. Tolentino

Paper Title: PANAGKARAS: Basis for a Creative Ilocano Dance

Adviser: Dr. Matilde T. Concordia

1st Runner Up: Shean M. Condino, Jewel Janine I. Dinong, Jhunell Victor B. Pisalbo, Patricia Anne A. Plete, Angelica B. Rabang and Fraulein Claire G. Ronquillo

Paper Title: CUBYERTOS DE KAWAYAN: The Feasibility Study of Bamboo Cutlery Products

Adviser: Ms. Michelle M. Pacpaco

2nd Runner Up: Jon Symon J. Tubon and Abegail G. Pimienta

Paper Title: Awareness and Practices on Household Waste Management of the Residents in Brgy. Borobor, Sto. Domingo, Ilocos Sur

Adviser: Dr. Joselito D. Dela Rosa


Best: Marie Terese R. Quirapas

Paper Title: Strengthening Democracies: Civil Society Organizations Participations in Local Governance

Adviser: Dr. Archie Martinez

1st Runner Up: Krista Manzano, Pe Asuncion, Blessie Ann Cabato, Andrea Mae Jimenez and Alyssa Jane Palacpac

Paper Title: The Untold Story of People Who Had Suicidal Ideations: A Phenomenological Study

Adviser: Prof. Cherry B. Banilad

2nd Runner Up: Kia Francoise O. Corpuz and Karah Lilyrose R. Ungao

Paper Title: Candidate Voting Preferences of Community Electorates in Vigan City, Ilocos Sur

Adviser: Dr. Aurelia T. Vitamog


Best: Darren A. Tesoro, Kristine Joyce S. Butay, Elizabeth T. Ribucan, Mae Joyce G. Inere, Jonna Mae B. Turqueza and Harley Cowen P. Combes

Paper Title: Parental Stress on Child’s Flexible Learning

Adviser: Prof. Sheila G. Obispo

1st Runner Up: Jasmine Joy B. Doctolero and Cheska C. Fariñas

Paper Title: Youth Engagement in the COVID-19 Pandemic Response in the Municipality of Santa, Ilocos Sur

Adviser: Prof. Arnold P. Pio

2nd Runner Up: Ell John R. Pula, Ligaya B. Balbuena and Rose Jean T. Vivit

Paper Title: Development of Ginger (Zingber officinale) Cupcake with Cinnamon (Cinnamomum verum) Frosting

Adviser: Prof. Miriam N. Javier


Best: Jade Patrick T. Cabalbal, James Johnsen A. Alvis, Mark Alexis D. Beria and Hazleigh B. Bayquen

Paper Title: Analysis of Concrete Hollow Blocks with Waste Glass as Partial Replacement of Aggregates

Adviser: Engr. Paul Rommel Valencia

1st Runner Up: Alexis Monika Nicole T. Ambida, Florence Mae B. Oliver and Hannah Grace R. Retuta

Paper Title: Composite Earth Brick Using Sawdust as Partial Replacement for Sand

Adviser: Prof. Franklyn Amistad

2nd Runner Up: Ma. Janina M. Paiste

Paper Title: HILOM: An Ecotherapy Center for Youth through Biophilic Design

Adviser: Ar. Raymund Queypo


Best: Blessy Mae L. Lopez, Regan L. Regua, Janella Angelica R. Navarro and Rhodelyn T. Samulde

Paper Title: Validation and Effectiveness of Triangle Trigonometry E-Module

Adviser: Dr. Mark Angelo C. Reotutar

1st Runner Up: Mary Cesarius R. Dumalanta, Nympha Gemariah I. Rabilas, Angel Joy C. Rapacon and Edmalyn Joyce S. Urieta

Paper Title: Pushover Analysis on the Shear Wall Placement of a Five-Story Reinforce Concrete Building

Adviser: Engr. Gaylord Frando

2nd Runner Up: Katrina Jade A. Pajo

Paper Title: Mathematical Modeling of Pole Balancing as an Inverted Pendulum

Adviser: Prof. Redentor S. Rojas

The University President, Dr. Erwin F. Cadorna, Mr. Albert R. Tejero (OIC-Vice President for Finance and Administration) and Ms. Angelika Mae B. Lucero (Student Council President), attended the closing program. Ms. Jessy C. Domingo, the Chief of the Aqua-Marine Resources Research and Development Center, officially wrapped up the program by thanking and congratulating everyone. Truly, the 6th Student Research Congress is a reflection of the University’s initiative in empowering students to be engaged and energized in doing research projects!

Source: UNP-URDO   | Photo Credits to: UNP PIO | Graphics: ITIMDS-ISMDS